AFSC Arizona Staff

Caroline headshotCaroline Isaacs, MSW, Program Director

Caroline has worked with AFSC Arizona since 1995. As Program Director (2004–present), she has sharpened the criminal justice work of the office into the respected, go-to prisoner rights organization in Arizona. Isaacs’ work currently focuses on fighting prison expansion and for-profit privatization, and changing Arizona’s sentencing laws. Caroline holds a Master of Social Work from Arizona State University.



Emily head shotEmily Verdugo, MA, Program Coordinator |

As Program Coordinator since May 2015, Emily is engaged with a burgeoning new area of work, the “Treatment Industrial Complex.” She is shaping and implementing a campaign to confront the for-profit private prison industry as they make moves to co-opt alternatives to incarceration such as diversion programs, probation, and other treatment programs. Emily holds a Master in Public Management from Northern Arizona University.


2016-03-22_09.00.12Grace Gámez, PhD, Program Coordinator | 

Grace directs AFSC’s multi-media storytelling project, Reframing Justice. With Reframing Justice, she draws upon her previous research, Fierce Mamas’ Rising, to design a program that centers the voices and experiences of formerly incarcerated/convicted people and their loved ones. Her commitment to mobilizing the power and knowledge of formerly incarcerated/convicted people is informed by her own experience in Arizona’s criminal punishment system. Grace holds a doctorate in Justice Studies from Arizona State University, and a Master of Science in Mexican American Studies and Public Health from the University of Arizona.


BeccaRebecca Fealk, MA, Program Coordinator |

Rebecca Fealk has been focused on prison reform issues since 2011, when she was hired to design and implement the Yavapai Reentry Project, a prisoner reentry program for Yavapai County, AZ. Much of her policy research has focused on prisoner reentry barriers and the for-profit private prison industry. Rebecca graduated in 2015 with a Master in Public Administration from the University of Arizona, focusing in nonprofit management and criminal policy.